Finance

Blockchain and Finance?

Much of the attention Blockchain devotes today is focused on financial services. Our global financial system moves billions of euros, dollars etc. per day and serves billions of people. However, the system is full of problems that cause costs through fees and delays, frictional losses through unnecessary and cumbersome paperwork, and opportunities for fraud and crime.

 

45% of financial intermediaries such as payment networks, stock exchanges and money transfer services suffer from white-collar crime every year. This figure is 37% for the economy as a whole and only 20% and 27% respectively for Professional Services and Technology. No wonder regulatory costs continue to rise and remain a major concern for bankers. All of this increases costs, with consumers ultimately bearing the brunt.

 

The question is: Why is our financial system so inefficient? First, because it is outdated, a collection of industrial technologies and paper-based processes in a digital envelope. Secondly, because it is centralised, making it resistant to change and vulnerable to system failures and attacks. Thirdly, it is unacceptable to deny billions of people access to basic financial instruments.

 

Blockchain technology can offer great advantages for financial transactions, lower brokerage costs with greater independence and transparency from banks. Blockchain-based financial transaction platforms offer not only the opportunity to fundamentally change banks' business models, but also to create new financial services and businesses.

Finance

Blockchain und Finance?

Ein Großteil der Aufmerksamkeit, die Blockchain heutzutage widmet, konzentriert sich auf Finanzdienstleistungen. Unser globales Finanzsystem bewegt billionen von Euro, Dollar etc. pro Tag und bedient Milliarden von Menschen. Das System ist jedoch voller Probleme, die Kosten durch Gebühren und Verzögerungen, Reibungsverluste durch überflüssigen und lästigen Papierkram verursachen und Möglichkeiten für Betrug und Kriminalität eröffnen.

 

45% der Finanzintermediäre wie Zahlungsnetze, Börsen und Geldtransferdienste leiden jedes Jahr unter Wirtschaftskriminalität. Diese Zahl beträgt 37% für die gesamte Wirtschaft und nur 20% bzw. 27% für die Bereiche Professional Services und Technology. Es ist kein Wunder, dass die regulatorischen Kosten weiter steigen und für Banker weiterhin ein Hauptanliegen sind. Dies alles erhöht die Kosten, wobei die Verbraucher letztendlich die Last tragen.

 

Es stellt sich die Frage: Warum ist unser Finanzsystem so ineffizient? Erstens, weil es veraltet ist, eine Ansammlung von Industrietechnologien und papierbasierten Prozessen in einer digitalen Hülle. Zweitens, weil es zentralisiert ist, wodurch es veränderungsresistent und anfällig für Systemausfälle und -angriffe ist. Drittens ist es ausschließend, Milliarden von Menschen den Zugang zu grundlegenden Finanzinstrumenten zu verweigern.

 

Blockchain Technologie kann für  Finanztransaktionen grosse Vorteile bieten, geringerer Vermittlungskosten bei größerer Unabhängigkeit und Transparenz von Banken. Finanztransaktionsplattform auf Blockchain Basis bieten nicht nur die Möglichkeit, die Geschäftsmodelle von Banken fundamental zu ändern, sondern auch neue Finanzdienstleistungen und -geschäfte zu schaffen.